it pays to discover
<<June 21, 2004 - Monday, 8:18 pm>>

HAHAHAHAHAHA..

Discover Card cares about me.

Oh lord, this is cracking me up. I find a pretty blue envelope in my mailbox today.. it's obvious that it's a card from someone. The handwriting on the front looked like that of my step-grandmother's whenever I get a card from her..

So I'm thinking to myself, 'Hrm.. It's not my birthday.. What other holidays would be around this time..? Father's Day.. No, I shouldn't be getting a card for that..' And then I'm thinking, 'Oh man, I hope it's not a pre-mature graduation card.. 'Cuz I'm not graduating yet..'

So I open the envelope when I get to my room. It's got a pretty scene of a forest and a rocky, rapidly flowing river on the front. I handle it carefully, anticipating a check to fall out, as these types of cards normally have something like that inside them.

No check. I glance at the signature. Last name Martin. And I'm thinking to myself, 'Do I have an uncle with that last name or something..?'

But then I read the card:

Danielle,

I don't know about you, but I find
that life often takes sudden turns -
many times without warning.
Please know that at Discover Card,
we understand life's unexpected detours
and are dedicated to serving you
in any way we can.
Give us a call so we can work
through this together.

...

Wow. I haven't made a payment in a few months and, rather than being bombarded by rude phone calls and threats of my delinquent balance being sent to a collection agency, like SOME credit card companies do.. I get such a pretty thoughtful card.

An' I just wanna say.. Discover Card, I love you, too.

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006