me? graduate?
<<January 28, 2005 - Friday, 7:45 pm>>

I was going to write an email about my day, but I figured.. why not just tell the world?

I handed in my graduation application to Registration today . I was sure something had to go wrong when I did it. Like.. perhaps they wouldn't accept the form without an advisor's signature. Seeing an advisor at this school is a pain in the ass, I just didn't want to bother with it. Plus I know my SASS report totally checks out. And today was the deadline to apply for graduation this semester. So I was really taking my chances, should anything happen to go awry on this very last of days to ensure my graduation.

The girl in front of me, in fact, was handing in her application, too. I sneaked a peak and I saw that she actually got hers signed by an advisor. Then I watched as they told her she couldn't graduate this semester because she hadn't filled her foreign language requirement. She got a bit hissy as she started listing off everything she's been through and no one told her about a foreign language requirement. And then she walked out of there muttering, "fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck."

So.. I was waiting for some dead-end to happen to me, too. But none came. I was handed a copy for myself and my advisor and good to go. Better yet, when I walked over to the college of business advising office, I saw a drop-box for graduation forms. No lines, no more people to see or talk to, done deal.

Sweet.

Except for one thing. I'm taking a class this semester that is requiring me to purchase some $40 simulation software. I can handle forty bucks. Well, actually, no I can't since I have negative money and bills I can't pay.. BUT.. I physically have the forty dollars in my possession. However, I don't have a working credit or checking account to purchase this thing for my class. So I emailed my professor about my dilemma and her basic reply was "it's not that much money - find someone who can pay it and give them the cash - or drop and take the class when you have the funds to do so."

Drop the class? Bitch, I'm trying to GRADUATE this semester.

On the website for this thing, it said something about being able to purchase the 'team member guide' from your school's bookstore and entering in the registration number from there. That's what I was hoping for, something like that, because I get my financial aid to pay for my books. I felt like giving her a curt reply saying she should give some kind of fucking notice on her website for the class saying it requires the purchase of extra software. If I'd had prior knowledge of this, I wouldn't have registered for her fucking class in the first place.. telling me to fucking drop. How fucking insensitive. This software shit is just a lazy professor's excuse to not have to figure out her own way of teaching a class. Plus it's an online class, which is the sorriest excuse for a class ever at this school. You pay an extra $295 for an online class, just so you can read a book and take online quizzes. In other words, you basically just teach yourself. The professors usually have very little to do with it.

Except.. I finally have a good online professor this semester. It's his first online class and I love how he's really taking initiative to actually make it work for the students' full benefit. He was the first online professor I've had who took the initiative to videotape his lectures and post them on the site. Now what he's done is even more amazing.

We're working on visual studio for this class, right? Some students were purchasing the software on their own, but they have it on the computer labs at school. BUT. To make it even more convenient, he worked with the online learning people to put visual studio on a new server and we students can log on remotely from home, not even have to download the software. And here I thought I was going to have to find a copy of the program from someone. This professor is truly awesome.

But I've digressed.

Hopefully, if all things work out, I will actually graduate this semester. People at work are like, "what.. you're leaving already?" And it catches me off guard because I don't actually feel like I'm leaving yet. Like, it hasn't sunk in. It's my fifth year. One of the people I work with, who's become something of a friend, used to go to FIU years ago and he just never graduated. And never left. And now he'll watch me come and go.

[x]

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006