layouts
<< - >>

Yes, I make my own layouts. They're not the best in the world, but I Try..

Having built up a collection of layouts I've designed for this site, I thought I would collaborate them all on one page, with some comments about them 'n stuff. So.. here goes.. [most recent first]

Currently: Designed entirely by me. This time I learned how to make lines without boxes!

ricci2 -the one you need is you[v.2]
layout: I got tons of compliments on this layout. I think mostly they were impressed with my pop-up menu. This was the first time I created a pop-up menu. I made it in Macromedia's Fireworks, and then had to copy and figure out what to do and where to put all the javascript code. I don't think I'll go back to standard links for a menu anymore.. I kept this layout for a very long time, but I was always dissatisfied in that the colors looked a bit bland. >>more description
title: this time I played up the Massive Attack lyrics in that image up top

ricci1 --the one you need is you
layout: People didn't take too well to this layout. One person even called it "creepy." I don't know why. I was actually really attached to this layout. The light blue just really draws me in. And I love that image of Christina Ricci. But.. oh well..
title: Massive Attack lyric, "What your soul sings"

butterfly --thoughts arrive like butterflies
layout: This is the last layout I had. Very simple and clean. I put it together after I was messing around in my webdesign class and I noticed that I liked the white text on that rose/salmon-ish colored background. Then I added the butterfly. Because the butterfly is my symbol, man. Not becuase it's "girly" or "happy". But because it represents so many things. Above all, major metamorphisis. And, of course, no one ever suspects the butterfly...
title: pearl jam lyric

rosario 2 --darling, your head's not right [v.2]
layout: Blue and white. This is the second layout I made using the same image of Rosario Dawson from the film, "Chelsea Walls." The image was not made using brushes, as one reviewer thought [I tricked you - ha ha!]. It was made in Macromedia Fireworks using a "torn edges" effect. That navigation bar was inspired by a picture I saw in some html design book called Html Artistry.
title: a lyric from a song by The Strokes, called "Someday". I absolutely love that song. It said so much about how I was feeling about my current relationship at the time: "You say you want to stay by my side.. Darling, your head's not right.."

rosario --darling, your head's not right
layout: Blue and white. This was me dabbling in inline scrolls.. or whatever you call those things. Auto overflow..? I liked it for awhile, then it got old. Plus, I felt like the entries I was writing at the time were too long for it. Same image of Rosario, though not altered as above. The image with the navigation, I was going for a magazine ad-like feel. And my links would be orange when you hover over them, to match the orange lights in the picture.
title: see above

uma --i want to think your thoughts.."
layout: Basically, I was in love with this film, "Chelsea Walls." I searched for all kinds of pictures and found this one that I really liked, of Uma Therman's character writing in her apartment. Very fitting for a diary, no? I loved the colors, and tried my best to get a scheme that matched.
title: "i want to think your thoughts. because they're mine." Lines from "Chelsea Walls." From Rosario's character, actually.

purple --days' dawning, skin's crawling
layout: This is my second attempt at my own personal layout. Purple used to be my favorite color. Now I think it's more blue. But sometimes I really like orange or red. Just not together. I love browns and white, too. But anyway.. This is an image called "Rest" by.. gotta get the name for you. I saw it at the local Renaissance Festival one year and instantly fell in love with it and had to have it. If you can't see it too well, it's basically a nude angel kinda.. curled up. In pain? Crying? Or just resting? We don't really know..
title: a Placebo lyric, "Pure Morning"



LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006