the regulars
<<Th 08.01.02 - 4:02 am>>

Well.. the last time I worked with Maria, Tuesday night, it really wasn't so bad. We actually talked to each other. And about various casual stuff. She told me how lately, she just dreads coming in to work, and I understood what that was like-- only, I didn't tell her I dreaded it because I had to face a whole night with her. She even told me that she sensed a lot was changing for me. And she couldn't be more on target.

And I was surprised to learn that, beneath all her unnecessary stress and bitchiness.. she's actually pretty receptive to things around her..

In addition, I believe I have another admirer. The first was a little old Spanish man. He comes in at least once every night, and he always asks for me. He only speaks Spanish. And every night, he says "hello" and "how are you?" and I always reply with "Good, and you?" all in Spanish. And then he points to the cigarettes that he comes in every night for. Viceroys. But he pronounces them "Vee-say-ROY" [with a rolling of that "r."] I've even memorized by now how much they cost. $2.93 with tax. And then he might try to conversate with me in Spanish, sometimes not. And sometimes I'll understand and respond, and sometimes I won't. He's a cute little man with bright blue eyes. And he has sometimes referred to me as "mi novia." And always, before he goes, he holds out his hand for a handshake, or he'll kiss my hand as well.

But now there's a new Spanish guy who's been coming in the past few days. First time that I dealt with him, he asked me in Spanish how I was, and of course I responded back in Spanish. They're always so charmed by that. And then he told me what everyone else tells me in Spanish-- that I have beautiful ojos. And he asked me if I was married and everything.. Probably the second time he came in, he commented that he had a reason to come in every day, and that's to see me. :p And then Tuesday, as I was walking to my car real quick to grab a hair tie to put my hair up [I dusted a bunch of the shelves on Tuesday], he stopped me and asked me if I like jet skiis. And he told me he had one and asked me if I wanted to go jet skiing with him.

Heh. I just gave him some indefinite answer, trying to get back to work.

I've never seen this man clean, though. He's always coming in while he's working.. some lawn service or something like that.. always comes in with the truck.. And he's asking me out.. sheesh.

But it's cute, the regulars who come in. You get a system going with a few of them. Like, with this one girl, the last time I saw her walking in, I grabbed the pack of Camel Special Lights 100 before she even reached the counter and I asked her, "Is this what you're looking for today?"

The regulars, they feel special when you do stuff like that. 'Cuz you remember them.. And it's fun. :p

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006