christmas present
<<December 22, 2003 - Monday, 1:39 pm>>

Christmas creeped up unexpectedly once again. I thought I'd get a head start this year, but.. as always, "things come up."

Three more days, and I've only been able to knock off two people on my Christmas list. I haven't sent out any Christmas cards. I only just bought a pack on Friday. I was all ready, all set to go right after Thanksgiving. But then.. I got sucked back into the routine of class, work, and sleep. And too much tv. And not enough money.

It took a whole week to get mr. spouse's paycheck 1700-something paycheck to fully go through. So that whole week was spent starving and waiting.

We got into some holiday fun this weekend, though. Mr.spouse has a friend from an old job [who's very cute, I might add] who's married [or almost] with two kids [one who's his]. Two boys, aged 1 and 2. And we all went to this "holiday village" thing that had rides 'n stuff.

As soon as you enter this place, you walk into a room that's set up with lights, music and lots of cute lit'l animatronics[sp?]. I was told later that it was set up by this guy in the 70's who used to work for Disney, and they just preserved how this guy set it all up. ..To even the tin-foil used to represent a lake for this lit'l train set thingie. Tin foil. Just a little slab of it under the track. We had so much fun making fun of how bad the first room was.. haha.. you just had to be there.

The second room was a lot better, more elaborate. It even included a life-size Ebenezer Scrooge getting head. Okay, not really, but.. it was supposed to be that he's scared and he keeps pulling the sheet toward him and dropping it back down. But with the mechanism used to do that, it just really looked like there was something bobbing up and down under that blanket..

But anyway.. it was fun. A good taste of holiday spirit. Then they had rides outside. One or two times, I jumped up and down like a little girl, pointing and saying, "I wanna go on that one!!"

Teehee. We're all just little kids trapped inside "adult" bodies. I see it more and more every day.

I gotta stop hanging around little kids, though, or I'm gonna start wanting some really badly. They're so much fun. And they're so surprising. And they're smart. So fresh. I couldn't ever get bored with kids around to play with. And I'd probably never stop smiling. Even when they're not trying to get your attention, which is rare, it's mesmerizing enough to just watch them. More thrilling and real than anything you can find on the tv.

But.. that's something I can file away in my "Things to Look Forward to" folder. Gotta have things like that to remind you that life is worth it. Hell is worth it.

Just gotta.
[See you next year.]

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006