someones gotta hear this
<<August 20, 2004 - Friday, 3:43 pm>>

i came to a realization the other night.. while chatting online.. about just how much this whole marriage ordeal has impacted me and my life.

i've always looked to it as a huge learning experience, and even though everything was very hard to go through, i was still always grateful. because i was able to learn and grow so much from it.

but until the other night, i hadn't looked to it as something i "needed."

i was depressed. i had no concept of self-worth. i couldn't ever believe in myself. i hated myself. i was my own worst enemy. the works.

but then i have my do-or-die moment. make or break me.

i meet my nemesis. i meet.. me.

hello, danielle.. it's me.

i will take you down.
[or, his exact words: "i will make your life a living hell."]

so interesting that we both had the same exact birthday. two virgo II's. two enigmas. unfathomable.

i had the challenge of my life, my friend.

he was taking over me. i was losing myself. i couldn't think for myself anymore. and the berating.. his words were reflecting into my concept of myself. as if i needed someone berating me again.. taunting me..

i was thinking.. in order to get to where i am now.. out of my depression.. it was like i needed something to fight for. so that i could finally team up with myself. and be on my side.

and, uhm.. jesus, after all i've been through how can i NOT love myself?

i had a huge choice to make. and i definitely made the right one.

i can get all giddy with myself now and say, look what we did, danielle.. look at all we did. we came through for you.

how can i ever doubt myself again..?

in one of those moments of truth.. i did the one thing i feared the most.

and i did alright.

and we came out on top.

we saved ourselves

he didn't own me anymore. and no one can ever own me again.

because i own myself now.

[i've waited for you to grow my whole life.. beautiful girl..]

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006