i almost passed out...
<<October 7, 2000 - 12:11 pm>>

Jasmine's my favorite girl

my favorite girl in the whole wide world..

Ugh. That song won't get out of my head. It's so.. happy.. heh..

Anyway. Yesterday, at work, I was so close to passing out. It was very scary. I was just on the second floor of the library, grabbing periodicals off the shelve so I could scan articles that people from other libraries requested and send them off. I hadn't eaten anything all day. It was 2 pm an' I just got up at 1. When I got to work, I thought to myself "oh man.. I should have drank something, at least." But I figured.. as soon as I get home I'll have something to eat. I can last a few more hours.

Yeah. Right. heh.

So I was looking up this article in Nursing Times. The stupid person who requested it didn't have the issue number or anything more specific than the year, or volume number. But it had the page numbers. So I had to look through all the issues in volume number 25 for the year.. I think it was 1994 or something.. for the article on pages 50-51 that matched the requested title. And.. this magazine must come out every week or something because there are SO MANY of them for that year. It was kinda funny looking through them, too.. They're like teen mags for nurses or something.. Like.. on one cover, I saw this caption that said "What doctors really think of nurses... what you really think of them..." Heh. But anyway.. there was also a lot of graphic operation type stuff. And there was this really nasty picture of an ulcer on the bottom of someone's heel. Anyway.. all that was starting to make me sick.. especially since I wasn't feeling too good to begin with. So I was, like, "oh man, I HAVE to get a drink." So i promptly proceeded to the bathroom, passing by this girl at a desk, to whom I smiled, trying my best to make it seem like everything was okay.. When I got there, I saw a water fountain out front an' I thought to myself "oh good.. I can just get a drink from here." But then I suddenly had this strong urge to throw up, so I passed it and went into the bathroom. But when I got in there, I started to black out. Well.. not exactly "black" out because it wasn't black.. but I just say that because the point is that I started losing my abilty to see. The best way I can describe what happens is there's these lit'l patches of sparkly yellowish-orangish light that start to block me from seeing anything. I remembered this happening to me when I first donated blood about a month ago, so I KNEW I was about to pass out. An' I thought to myself, "oh shit.. I do NOT want to pass out in here.." y'know..? god.. So I stumbled back out of the bathroom and over to the girl at the desk, hoping she could help me. It was so scary.. I couldn't even SEE her when I asked her for help.. I was sweating and breathing heavily.. I know I was so close to losing consciousness an' I fought it like hell. But she had me sit in her chair an' she got me a drink of water. As soon as I started drinking it.. that fuzzy yellowy stuff started clearing away and I could see again..

Ugh. It was so scary.

Then the paramedics 'n stuff came. That was embarrassing. Heh. People lookin' at me 'n stuff.. I hate being the center of attention.. heh.. Do I want to go to the hospital, they asked. I'm like, I don't know.. I have no clue what I'm supposed to do here. I was okay by the time they came.. just a lit'l shaky.. I felt it silly to go to the hospital.. Especially since my only problem, probably, was that I hadn't eaten anything all day. Heh. They all told me a million times: "You have to EAT something." One of the paramedics guys was trying to get my blood to test for my sugar level an' he complained, "She's so dehydrated, I can't even get any blood from her.." Heh. So I decided.. if I'm still having trouble in the next few days.. I'll go to the wellness center.. It's been a horrible, horrible messed up week.. heh..

Afterwards.. I really wasn't that hungry.. but i forced myself.. heh.. it's so scary to be on the verge of losing consciousness like that.. And losing my eyesight.. I kept telling my eyes, "SEE, DAMN YOU!" heh.. It was very weird..

Anyway.. god, I really need to do my homework.. With all the stress and heartache of the week, plus no classes because of flooding.. I completely neglected that stuff.. heh.. I think I'll go work on that now...



LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006