thanksgiving weekend
<<November 27, 2001 - 2:59 pm>>

Okay, yes, I've been making constant little changes with the layout. Don't know if I'm satisfied yet. Probably not. But for now, I'll take a break.

Anyway. Man.. I keep going over diary entries in my head, and if I don't finally sit down and type them out, they'll be gone. Half of the entries I intend to write are lost anyway..

But.. Thanksgiving weekend. It was a nice break. Tuesday morning, I came home from my 8:00 am class sick of school and of Miami, when I came up with this ingenious idea: Let's go back home tonite! Fuck work. Fuck school. I need a BREAK. My honeybunny thought it was a good idea, so I was literally jumping around the apartment, ecstatic with excitement and happiness. Imagine. Getting excited about going back home. Who woulda thunk?

Over the break, I got lots of sleep. Even though my honeybunny kept trying to wake me up early in the mornings and when I wasn't quite finished with my naps yet. :p A pleasant lit'l Thanksgiving dinner at an aunt and uncle's house. Much too much food to eat, period. Got the air in my car fixed - when I noticed something under the hood was making an unusually loud sound whenever I accelerated. This was - lemme think... uhm.. oh yeah. Friday night. The plan was to leave early Saturday morning so I could be back in time to rest and then go work at Target. But.. alas.. something was wrong with my car. The people who "fixed" the air didn't do it quite right. What could I do? I had to take my car for them to fix it up the next morning. ;) Which MEANT: I'm not going home tonite and I can finally see Jaclyn's and my brother's band play at Gasoline Alley! (They were playing Saturday night at Battle of the Bands - they won second place)

YAY!!

I HATE WORKING AT TARGET!

Heh.

But yeah. So we went to Gasoline Alley. And, of course, it was another CCC reunion. But this time there were also people from St. Pat's that I haven't seen in years. So that was cool.

Jaclyn was awesome. I love Jaclyn. I really think she's one of the most talented people I know. She sang perfectly, I thought. And then when she dances around and shakes her firey-red hair.. I just thought she looked awesome.

But.. the party after, at my brother's new place, was the best time I had all during my lit'l "break". I enjoyed a couple Doc Otis'. (Fuck you. It's much better than regular beer.) Sat around for a bit with my honeybunny at my brother's awesome table that he found on the side of the road. I sat there observing, mostly. It was so interesting to see people who I knew from CCC interacting with people I knew from St. Pat's. When I was younger, I used to imagine what it would be like for people that I knew from different places to meet - and how they would interact. So it was just so weird to see it actually taking place before my eyes.

I saw someone from St. Pat's, David, grabbed his attention and talked with him a bit. I saw he had a cigarette in his ear and asked him if he wanted to join me for a smoke out on the porch. Of course I got the, "What? You smoke? Lit'l miss goody-goody?" No, I don't smoke anymore, but I will in social situations. So we smoked and talked, and then Cassandra, someone I've known since, like, 3rd grade - I've played in a number of jazz bands with her - she came out to talk with me. She didn't know any of the people there and she wanted to talk with me since it's been so long.

That, out there on the porch, was the best best part of my night. I've always admired Cassandra. I enjoy her rambling. :p And it was just a breath of fresh air to have someone to talk with. Down here in Miami, I have very little people to talk to or chill with- and especially not any girls. My honeybunny came out with us eventually.. and it was just a very very good nite.

Eventually, it was around midnight and we were getting pretty tired. Yeah, we're getting old. She said it was past her bedtime.. and I just thought to myself - whoa. Here's another person my age who goes to bed early. Most other people in college, y'know, stay up late, party. I've been wanting to get back into my stay-up-at-least-until-2am mode, but.. maybe I should just learn to accept it.. Heh.. And I thought I was the only one.

I dunno. I'm rambling. I have too much to say and I can't say it all fast enough so it's not organized at all.

But, like.. I dunno.. that night made me feel like my break was a success.

Driving back, I had the absolute weirdest thing happen to me. I ran into someone I went to high school with, Kristin, at a gas station at an exit along the way to Miami. (!!!) What are the chances! Y'know? I said "hi" of course - hehe. I was in the bathroom and she was there waiting in line for the bathroom. And I found out that she was on her way back to Miami, too. She goes to UM. I had no idea.

How weird.

And my parents smoked out with my brother.

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006