mind over matter
<<February 11, 2002 - 8:43 pm>>

Wow. I just watched a girl, Natalia, perform her ice skating routine at the olympics with a broken foot. I cannot even begin to imagine the kind of will power and determination to be able to do that. Normal people would be like, "goddammit, I broke my foot. Now I can't compete this year in the Olympics." At least, that's what I would think. That couldn't have been healthy for her, besides the pain. Wouldn't a doctor recommend not walking on your broken foot? But to ice skate a four minute performance... It's amazing, the kind of determination one can have when you really put your mind to it. The lengths you can push yourself if you really want it. Ice skating alone is an inspiration. To be so gracefully in control of your body and your movements. And here I am sitting on my ass every day, hardly in shape.. just wasting away..

I dunno.. I like the Olympics. I think it's a wonderful idea.

Y'know.. it's been a very long time since I've been really genuinely happy.. since I could just appreciate and bask in the beauty and simplicity of something.. I used to have a lot of moments like that when I was single.. when I would just enjoy how imperfect life is.. it was nice..

And then I hear Aaron's voice in the message he left me on voicemail... I had forgotten how beautiful his voice is...



LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006