happy belated mardi gras
<<March 2, 2002 - 1:54 pm>>

Goddamn, it's fuck'n windy outside...

*

My honey surprised me with a king cake last night! We got to have a Mardi Gras after all.. and this time there was actually a baby in the cake! woohoo!

Last Mardi Gras was just awesome, tho. It was me, Aaron, and Jackie (who I haven't talked to in a *very* long time), and we drove to New Orleans from Miami in my little white Sundance. It's about a 14 hour trip. I loved being on the road with that lit'l Sundance, though. The first night driving, I wasn't even tired, but the other two were, so we stopped at a hotel for the night.

But.. New Orleans is a very dirty city. Especially during Mardi Gras- just trash and dirt and mush everywhere. I took a picture of the filth, but I still haven't had that roll of film developed. That's why I need a digital camera, man.. For now, I just take pictures with my lit'l i-zone. But anyway.. so it's just dirty, and there's smog.. and their graves are above-ground. I wanted to walk around the cemetery and take some pictures of the beautiful graves when we were there, but I never got a chance to. Things were pretty hectic. The first night we stayed in a hotel on Canal St., very close to the action.. that's when we got the king cake. I was so disappointed there was no lit'l baby in it, tho. But.. heh.. we weren't all very alert, shall I say, at the moment... So, uh.. who knows if any one of us accidentally ate the baby..

Speaking of which.. the hurricanes (it's a drink for you dumbasses out there).. You can just buy them on the street, no one checks ID, a nice big clear plastic cup for about 2 or 3 dollars, I think it was. Tasty.. I think I only had about a quarter of my glass and I still got pretty drunk. I kinda miss getting drunk.. Things would just flow so effortlessly out of my mouth, I'm happy and giggly... Ask Brandon. When I'm drunk, I don't shut up. Heh.. the guys would have fun telling other people about what I'm like when I'm drunk. Julius even said he was going to put one episode of mine in his movie..

Ah, memories..

But, New Orleans.. it's dirty and beautiful at the same time. The second night just Aaron and I stayed at a cheap hotel (Indian owned, mirrors on the walls...) in Baton Rouge. That was a neat drive from New Orleans to Baton Rouge. Long foggy bridge.. And you'll see those houses of those people.. the creoles, are they called..? I forget.. But you'll see their houses on the side of the bridge, seemingly with absolutely no way possible to get to their houses. I'm told they like to keep to themselves..

But anyway.. it was just neat.. and then on the way back, you'd see tons of people in their cars with beads hanging from their rearview mirrors, just like me. We've STILL got tons of beads.. For when we go again. We would've gone this year, but.. We are very poor.

I remember, standing in the crowd, watching the floats go by.. Aaron was talking to me about possibly not seeing one another after awhile.. like, possibly just losing touch, not really being friends anymore.. I guess, 'cuz he was thinking of going to either San Fransisco, Boston, or NYC. I felt a little sad about this.. I told him, if nothing else, we'd always see each other and talk to each other online.. But he had this kind of attitude that he didn't know how things would turn out..

It's really funny how things eventually do turn out in the end..

That was one of the things I loved about him, though. I could really go places with him. I absolutely loved the roadtrips. And he's been to so many places that he can really show me around. I'm looking forward to when he can show me around NYC, and then eventually show me around Europe.. or wherever else we think of going.. It was one of my childhood dreams to "see the world." Like George Bailey wanted to in "It's a Wonderful Life." I miss the weekend roadtrips. It sucks being couped up in this apartment all the time...

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006