foreign films
<<Th 09.19.02 - 2:50 am>>

I saw "City of Lost Children" this evening.. and once it was done, I drew a connection in appearance between that and the only other French film I've seen, "Amelie." And I asked Encyclopaedia Aaronica, "Are all French films so pretty?"

So he went into this long shpiel [sp?] about how the guy who did "Lost Children" [art direction, we're talking about] used to be paired with the guy who did "Amelie," and that's in fact where the second guy learned all his stuff.. so that's why those two films are similar like that. But then he continued on about how foreign [French, Italian, I don't know what else] films are generally "prettier" than American films because of what they focus on in film school. Outside countries, it's 1)Light, 2)Shadow, and 3)Color. These are the things the art director focuses on. In America, he was saying it's like the art director has to be a cinematographer and editor in one.. because the focus here is Frame shot, Camera angle.. and something else, I forget now. But.. so he was telling me, that's why foreign films will have more vibrant colors.. or that really awesome grainy, splotchy look. Not so that it looks old. But that it looks like it's trying to look old in an artistic way..

So.. this has me interested. For this reason, I plan to rent [I get a free movie a week, and I was starting to get bored with the selection..] more foreign films to compare. I always like a pretty picture. Something pleasing, vibrant, captivating to the eye. Something fresh.

Design.. style.. it's something that keeps pulling me, grabbing my interest, yanking at the chains in my heart, even.. But I wouldn't know where to begin, to be in a position to make things of my own that can match the things I find beautiful.

It used to be words or music that could touch my inner soul. But these days, it's fresh art and intriguing design, a feast for my tired eyes, that's what calls me and grabs me.

But if only I knew what to do with that..

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006