memorial memories
<<May 27, 2003 - Tuesday, 12:41 am>>

Memorial Day weekend.. Where's my hotdog??

*sigh*

Y'know what I would love more than anything? A big fantastic BBQ in the park. With lots of friends and/or family. I miss things like that.. Did I ever have things like that..? I must've..

But.. whatever..

My weekend was okay. 'Spent it with the husband. We spent one night doing something that I was soo looking forward to for my adult life: Playing boardgames with another couple. Whowee, now we're just like those people you see on TV. Couples hanging out with other couples. Even couples with kids. I felt so grown-up.

No, but it was fun. I love boardgames. I just don't like charades. Well, as long as I'm not the one doing it. It's fun watching other people.. But we played this game, Cranium. Helluva lot of fun. You know.. the one where they have the commercials where the guy is putting on diapers before the couple goes to the friend's house because they laugh so much..? Well.. it's almost that fun. 'Cept there's charades parts. I froze on those parts.. But oh well..

So, like I mentioned, the couple had kids. One spent the night sleeping in the room. The other, cute little guy, 'don't know how old, he was very young.. Old enough to walk around, but not to talk comprehensively. So I got some exposure to hanging around a kid. It was fun. The husband says I'm good with kids. I don't know what he's talking about. I don't know the first thing about what to do with kids. His friend showed me the sleeping baby in the other room and all I can think was a dry, "oh. nice." What else am I supposed to do? Start talking stupid baby talk? I hate that shit. I'll never do that to my kids, sorry.

*shrug*

But with this kid.. I just listen to him and use gestures and facial expressions to play off whatever he's giving me. Pretty much how I treat anyone else, heh..

But I was thinking the next day.. If I ever had a kid.. Something I would be dedicated to doing is to build his/her's self-esteem. Always, I would listen. And I'd let them know I'm not someone to be afraid of, that I'm someone they can turn to. And to build self-esteem, I would have them repeat phrases after me, even before they could fully comprehend what they're saying, stuff like, "I can think for myself" and "I have unlimited potential".. I dunno.. stuff like that. And I wouldn't shield or "protect" them from the things we think we have to protect kids from today. I'm talking about stuff we feel we have to keep from kids because they "won't understand" or they're "too young" or something. Fuck that. Give them the tools early on for knowledge.. The focus would be to give them the tools to help them make decisions of their own that would be right for them. Because well.. that's still something that I don't know how to do.. And maybe if my kid(s) can learn early on.. Maybe they can teach me or something.

But.. like I said.. I don't know the first thing about raising kids.. So maybe to someone who has kids, this is purely ass-talk or something..

But on a completely unrelated note, I had an interesting dream today. I dreamt I would go into trance or something and do dances over the dead. And with those dances I had magical powers. Like, to pull things or something like that.. It was pretty cool.

And now I shut up.

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006