where'd i put my keys..?
<<June 11, 2003 - Wednesday, 6:54 pm>>

The other day, I discovered this in my mailbox, without my requesting one. A mini checkcard.

At first thought: "Oh, how cute!"

At second thought: "Great.. just another way to make it easier for me to lose something.."

It all started with the oddly shaped Discover 2GO card, I guess, and now what..? Everyone else is following suit? I ordered that 2GO card, but I never ended up activating it. I just couldn't see myself trusting it. With something as important as a credit card number, smaller only makes it more easily lost for me. And on my keychain? No way. I never trust where I put my keys. Half the time, it takes me a good 5-10 minutes to figure out where I put my keys in my apartment. One time, I even left my housing keys at the hubby's house, only to discover what I'd done after I made that 45 minute trip back to my place. It's just a good thing I have keypad entry on my car. Who knows how many times I might've locked myself out..?

In a world with such abundant credit fraud and identity theft [Oooh, and I've been there..], one would think they'd take more measures into looking into ways to protect and secure such important information as your credit card number. Making a little mini checkcard is only ASKING for more problems. Do you know how many times people would leave their keys at the counter when I worked as a cashier at a gas station?? Oh, but luckily, they need those keys to drive off, now don't they?

I dunno.. they should look more into things like tattooing barcodes or surgically imbedding chips into your finger or something. That way, ONLY you can be using your credit card, y'know..?

Just stick your finger in the hole, sir.. And the device would scan. Even for online purchases.. you can get these finger-scanning devices for your personal computer, and it would transfer over the web via a secure website.. Or something like that.. No..? We're not capable of doing that..?

Oh well..

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006