summer fun
<<July 08, 2003 - Tuesday, 10:40 pm>>

While embarking on a 4-hour trip back home Thursday night for the 4th of July weekend and such.. Two dark-haired young girls were sitting in the back of a pickup truck. They were animated and laughing and they just looked like they were having a ton of fun. It's good to be a kid, y'know? And they were in the left lane on the highway, I on the right. They were up ahead of me, and they were looking at me and waving.

At first, I avoided eye contact because, I dunno, it just feels a little embarrassing to me to have someone in front of me, staring at my face, while I'm driving. But then it only took me a second and.. I remembered this game...

My brother, my two cousins, and I used to do it all the time when we were young, and we would visit each other in the summer [they live in NY]. Our grandparents had a station wagon, and us being the kids, we would always sit in the "very back", which is were the flat part of the wagon actually opens up into two seats facing each other, big enough to fit two each. And, riding in the back of the car, it became our game to wave to the people behind us and see if we could get them to wave back. And, of course, we would laugh and be all "Oh my gosh, they waved!" when they did.

So I remembered.. But I did better.

I stuck my tongue out at them.

They loved it. They shrieked and laughed and pointed and covered their mouth in disbelief. I could tell they were delighted. As was I.

And so..

Mission Accomplished. :)

~*~

this or that:

1. Strawberries or blueberries? Strawberries!

2. "Legally Blonde 2" or "Terminator 3"? Already saw T3. Not bad. I'm ashamed to admit I actually want to see Charlie's Angels, too.

3. Hamburgers or hot dogs? I usually go for the hamburgers. More meat, I guess.

4. Boating or hiking? Mm, I wish I could get myself to go bike-riding at the very least.

5. Suntan lotion or sunblock? Suntan lotion. I prefer not to block out the sun, as I need each and every harmful cancer-giving ray. I actually use Australian Gold's Dark Tanning Accelerator. Used it all weekend. 'Works pretty nice.

6. "Big Brother" or "The Amazing Race"? Neither!

7. Beach Boys or Jimmy Buffett? Neither, either!

8. Grow your own produce or buy from supermarket/greengrocer/farm stand? Uhm, can I get that frozen or canned? Seriously, I don't trust myself with buying fresh produce anymore. It just sits in the fridge and rots.

9. Drive with car windows/top down, or with air-conditioning on? A/C, please.

10. Go away for vacation, or stay at home? *sigh* Take me away...

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006