rule of three
<<August 07, 2003 - Thursday, 6:04 pm>>

It was a scary ride home today...

First, driving on I-95, out of nowhere, I see a car a couple lanes over just spinning around. I mean, it probably made a full circle in the middle of the 5 lane one-way traffic traveling 65-75 mph. At first, it seemed like a normal occurance as I glanced over. Then the realization of potential danger hit my brain and I felt a very sharp surge of the adrenaline rush as I clutched my wheel tightly. With that car swerving out of control, I had no idea if it would get thrusted over a couple lanes, right where I was..

I didn't hear a crash and I didn't see any damage on the car.. so it must not have hit anything. Maybe a flat tire? I'm dreading the day I get a flat tire. I'd probably piss in my pants if something like that happened to me. I hold my life and trust in my top-of-the-line Goodyear whitewall tires.

I was amazed that none of the other cars hit this swerving car.. I kept watching for it to happen, but it didn't..

But that left me prickly with adrenaline..

After that, my engine skipped a total of four times. I was counting them, wondering which "skip" will be the last until my car dies and sputters smoke or something. I have NO IDEA what is causing it or what is happening when I feel these skips as I'm driving. It almost feels as if, for a split second, the engine is not getting any gas.. and there's a pause in my driving, I press harder on the gas, and it buckles a couple times before I'm back on track with a smooth ride again..

I hear taps on the window. It must be hailing.

That was my third scare. Listening to the radio, I suddenly hear those annoying beeps and pauses of the Emergency Broadcasting System. There's a tornado warning. A tornado hit ground in Palm Beach. I'm not sure how far away this is from where I am.

But there are dark clouds surrounding the sky.. Very, dark menacing ones.. And they look so beautiful. I wish I had a front porch to sit out at and watch the storm.. I love dark stormy skies..

I got to thinking about wind and air, after that tornado annoucement. How something you can't even see or touch* could raise such a fury and cause so much damage.. It's amazing..

And the sky is so beautiful..

~*~

"you can't touch air?"

*rolls eyes*

You would think some people knew what I meant.

Can you grab it with your fingertips? Can you feel its texture? Can you press it close to your body? Will it block your way if it's in front of you? No, you walk right through it.

Sure, air touches you all the time. You feel the wind brush up against you. But can you really touch it?



LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006