barriers and the girls' club
<<September 17, 2003 - Wednesday, 11:31 pm>>

Funny how... you pass by and watch the same group of people almost every day. But you don't say hi.. much less have anything to say to them.. because you don't really know them. You just see them every day...

But then barriers are broken when someone realizes, "Hey, we're in a couple classes together.."

Of course, I'm not the one to break the barrier. But once someone else breaks it for me, it's like, "oooo.. a window has opened... some fresh air..."

A blindfold has been lifted..

Or something..

The ingredients: common class, common bus ride. The opener: "How did you do on the test?"

Suddenly, without something to do or someone else to talk to for either of us.. just waiting for the bus.. it was a reason for a conversation. I was glad for the break in the monotonous silence. And, even more, I was introduced to his friend who came by later.

Once strangers.. now, two more people to say "hello" and "goodbye" to.

*shrug*

Maybe there's hope for me after all.

I've been watching girls, lately, though. Watching how they travel in packs, and how they relate to other girls. I don't really have that, the girl-girl relationship. Not too strongly, anyway. But I watch and listen to these girls.. and it's like.. they put each other before they put any boy. And I've listened to them discuss everything they're going through with their guys.. like, to the detail. They'll tell the details of just "what happened" the other night. Amazing. Even if it's just stuff they talked about. Or whatever. I just.. never thought about that subject as something to talk about.

Or maybe I used to do that.. But not like these girls did.. I used to only tell "juicy", worthy stuff..

But it's like.. these girls would discuss with their girlfriends what they're gonna do with their guys, like if they're going to stay with them or not or whatever their next move.. they would discuss this with their girlfriends before telling the guy..

Sure, I was eavesdropping, but it's for a legitmate study. I'm not trying to be a snoop, but.. I want to know what it's like.. to have girlfriends..

*shrug*

Girls confuse the hell out of me, though. Whenever guys complain to me about girls being confusing, I can really sympathize. Because I don't know about them either. I'm not part of their club. I don't know what kinds of things they say or do when it's "just girls." Sure, I can be just as confusing, but... I think it's on an entirely different level..

Or.. something..

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006