radiohead
<<October 05, 2003 - Sunday, 12:57 pm>>

I had my first ever lucid dream last night. [click]

Alright, so I saw Radiohead last night at the Sound Advice Amphitheatre. Last minute thing. The husband guy had paid for seating tickets in advance.. but then there was a problem with his card last minute and he lost those tickets. Last minute, his mom helped him out with some tickets on the grass..

But.. Radiohead.. Very nice show. It was my second time being at that amphitheatre. First time was Pearl Jam. That was an even better show.

But anyway.. Yeah, my interest in Radiohead fizzles out more and more with each album they put out. But when they played some old stuff, it got me more in the mood.

Although he is largely "homely", shall we say.. Thom is so funny and cute to watch. The bobbing head thing.. When he dances it's more like him running in place. Waving arms around..

And he did the funniest thing while singing "You and Whose Army." The side screens on the stage had a close-up shot of just his face and his hands holding the mike. It was very slightly "fish eye" in the shot, but maybe just because it was such a close shot. While he was singing, he was looking right in the camera. He was making gestures with his hands when he sang, "Come on, come on.." And making funny faces.. So funny and cute.. People were giggling in the crowd.. And at about the fourth time he said, "You and whose army", though the shot cut most of it off, I saw some of his middle finger being extended.

Very endearing, that performance was.

Then, later on, he dedicated a song to Clear Channel. And people started booing in the crowd. And he said, "Oh no. They're very good. They're very nice." And people kept booing. And he kept saying "Really" about 5 or 6 times, and each time seemed to be dripping with more and more sarcasm..

The venue was absolutely PACKED. It was only their second time being in the South Florida area. Radiohead was one of those people that I thought I would've had to travel to New York or something to ever get to see them. Like Bjork.

But.. I love how, in concerts like this.. songs that you know and love take on a new context. A whole new level and meaning. And a new comaraderie exudes. Just imagine a sea of thousands of people singing out under the night sky, "This is what you get when you mess with us.."

Good stuff.

But anyway.. that was my nite. 'Good to get out once in a while.

p.s. My nose was itching the whole time radiohead played. Literally, every 5-10 seconds I'd be scratching, rubbing, and sniffing. And I have no idea why. I worried that I looked like I had snorted some coke to other people. But anyway.. now my nose is a little tender today..

~*~

Since the issue was raised, here are some other clear channel resources I've found:

Salon - A complete guide to Salon's reporting on Clear Channel
Buzz Flash
Sign the Clear Channel boycott petition

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006