unedited
<<February 07, 2004 - Saturday, 1:57 pm>>

My therapist has introduced to me the idea of not editing myself when I talk. And it's quite a concept. I've never realized how much I do it. Then maybe again, I did know I was doing it. I just didn't know what to call it.

I guess I called it "holding back."

But when you call it "editing".. Now it doesn't seem so.. substantial. or as large of a problem. It sounds like something I can handle. Something I can fix. I'm not quite so constrained.

And so I've been looking for opportunities to practice being unedited. With a smoking buddy. A friend at work. A classmate. Even my therapist. And sometimes.. a perfect stranger.

It's kinda fun. It's not so scary anymore.

And I want to get out more, again

~*~

DeleriumS: you get to a point after so long that you think the rest of your life will be hell.. but it really doesn't have to be that way.. but you don't really fully *know* that until you make the change.. and once you're there.. it's just amazing..
DeleriumS: or something..
m6: yeah
DeleriumS: i dunno.. it was a learning experience.. i like learning things..
DeleriumS: and there's so many things i was afraid of.. financially and whatever else.. then, explaining things to family 'n stuff.. 'cuz some of them.. y'know.. the idea that a marriage is a sacred thing and you work it out no matter what.. but.. i'd rather have their scorn.. i'd rather let the pieces fall where they may as far as money and a place to live.. not having control over what may happen as an outcome is scary, but.. all of it's better than a lifetime of hell.. an' all that..
DeleriumS: i'm sorry.. i had a little to drink..
m6: amen to that
m6: no, its okay
m6: you're absolutely right
DeleriumS: mm, well that's good
DeleriumS: my brother got the balls to break things off with the girl he was getting engaged with..
DeleriumS: i guess we're both the same like that.. getting involved with domineering partners.. interesting..

DeleriumS: yeah.. life is good, tho. i like it. for the first time in 2 years.

you could be my unintended
choice to live my life extended

[muse]

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006