vanilla and radio
<<December 29, 2001 - 10:33 pm>>

Wow. All I can say is.. any movie that opens with a Radiohead song has to be good. And Vanilla Sky was better than good. A complete mindfuck. Perhaps the original (Abre Los Ojos) is better, I dunno, but.. But this was one of those movies that left me in its world for a while after. Like, you can't shake the feeling it gives you.. and you're obssessed and in awe at the same time.

It makes me wonder.. what if I'm in my own dream. Sometimes it really feels like it. I got the guy I wanted, didn't I? I never thought it would happen. He even told me, previously, all the reasons why I wasn't someone that he'd want to go out with. But I still couldn't fight my longing for him. And he grew attached.. I think I made that happen somehow.. Somehow I got what I wanted..

Last night I dreamed that they blew up the rest of New York City. But that's a tangent. Back to my topic.

This movie.. I loved it so much that I bought the soundtrack almost immediately after seeing the movie. I bought it at Best Buy with a $20 gift card that my brother so generously gave me. How could I not get the soundtrack? Surpisingly, it wasn't Radiohead that made it absolutely imperative that I buy it. As soon as I heard Sigur Ros playing, my decision was made. Ugh. That song on there. "svefn-g-englar." So haunting and beautiful. I feel like I could spend the rest of my life just listening to it.

And where was the first place that I heard it? Well, where else but UM's beautiful radio station 90.5 WVUM The Voice. That's the only radio station I really liked down in Miami. On there, I'd hear songs that I would otherwise hear No Where else.. and I loved so many of them. That radio station was about one of the few things I'd miss about Miami.. I kinda despaired over that. 'Cuz radio really sucks these days - it's hard to find any good music being played. But The Voice was awesome. The people on the radio kinda sucked and lacked personality, but the music was awesome. And it seemed that a requirement for working there was a love of Aphex Twin. They played it so goddamn much. :p

So.. as I was saying, I kinda despaired over losing that station.. until one day I realized that I didn't lose it at all. They stream their broadcast online. So I can listen to it on the computer anytime. Now if I could only somehow listen to it in the car..

Spinner is another life-saver. That's the second place I heard Sigur Ros. Radio is so cheap these days. Pretty soon, Cox is turning the one classical radio station in Miami into a talk radio station. Every city's gotta have at least ONE classical radio station. I mean, c'mon.. Yes, a LOT of people are upset, but do the radio broadcasters care? Do they want people to listen to their station or not? Severe boycotts are being planned.. You just can't do that to the people.

*shrug*

On a completely different note, I just bought myself an i-zone webster today. You know, that cute little portable scanner for i-zone pictures. It came with a new i-zone for myself and lots of pretty face plates for it. Normally, that would all cost about 80 bucks. But my honeybunny found it at Costco today for just 20 bucks. Hell yeah. I had to get it. It works nice. I'll start posting pics sometime soon.

Yeah. So like. I'm in some in-between time. Feels kinda weird. 'Can't really get settled. Haven't been settled for a while. It's like I've been spending the last year just waiting for something.. And I haven't really appreciated where I am at the moment. My mind's always on something else.

Maybe once I move to Orlando..

Do I live my life.. or do I fall back into a dream..?

"Every passing moment is a chance to turn it all around..."



LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006