car figurings
<<October 18, 2002 - Friday, 12:19 pm>>

I have cars on my mind..

We went to this used car tent sale last night, mostly trying to find VW golfs. One that was in our budget, and automatic. And not red. Wide open expectations, but still.. nothing fit. So we looked at other cars. Walking, walking.. 'Til Vladimir, the sales guy, had us sit at a table while he went to get a list of vehicles so we don't have to walk around so much. And he came back with a prospect:

A '99 two-door white Honda Civic. 35,000 miles. Very nice.

I test drove it.

Very, very nice..

It was almost everything I wanted. It was white. It was small. Very low mileage. Manual windows and locks [YES, I actually want that in my car..]. Only things were.. It wasn't a hatchback, wasn't four-door, and.. sitting in that thing.. it was really low [and I couldn't adjust the seat to get me higher]. Are they all supposed to be like that? I am used to being higher up in my "boat," though. But my Sundance wasn't like that..

But.. god.. driving it.. I can't get it out of my head.. And when I made a U-turn in that car.. Woo, it made my heart flutter.

But they wanted 10 grand. Plus a 500 dollar dealer's fee. And they were talking about "how would we pay off the difference in our trade?"

Mm-mm. Nuh-uh.

As much as I hate my car now, I can't give it up for a Honda Civic.

It may be a '95, and it may have over 100k mileage, but.. that thing is still a luxury car. And it's a fucking tank.

Leather seats and dashboard. Digital display with tons of options, such as miles to empty, gallons of gas in tank, 2 trip options, etc. Temperature-controlled A/C. Radio and air controls on steering wheel. Power windows, locks, keypad codes on door to unlock doors and open trunk. Power adjustable seats.. Fucking beautiful V8 engine. Etc, etc.. I mean, this car is an investment. And to trade it in and pay the difference for a Honda Civic? A very basic, basic, lower-end car? A car that's going to depreciate in value twice [or 3 or more?] as quickly?

Nah.. 'Can't do it.

Gotta be smart here.

I think a VW golf is the best way to go so far. Gotta get a car whose value is going to last a little..

*shrug*

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006