if looks could violate
<<December 3, 2002 - Tuesday, 12:31 am>>

Some retard freaked the hell out of me today..

I was shelving books when he was looking over the books in my cart, so there was some sort of exchange of hello's, and I said to him, out of habit, "How are you?"

He just stared at me. I thought to myself, "Oh shit, I should've kept my mouth shut." But I just turned and walked down the isle to continue my shelving.

He followed me. He asked me if I was there for some meeting. I was like, "no." [I don't think he understood that I worked there.] Then he asked me how I knew his name.

I explained that I didn't. He said, if I didn't know his name, then how did I say it just now. And I told him simply that I was only saying hello to him, I didn't say his name.

I continued shelving. He continued staring and standing there. I felt really fucking uncomfortable.

He told me I wasn't a very good liar. [Inside, I was thinking to myself, "Oh god, just please go away."] He said he knew that I was lying because I had a smile on my face.

Grr. I told him very pleasantly that I honestly don't know his name, and I didn't mean to cause any trouble, I was only saying hello. [The smile, of course, staying there because I am an employee and I am trying to remain friendly and pleasant. Even though I'm feeling really fucking uncomfortable.]

Well then he just does a little spin the other way, waves up his arm in disgust and says, "Well, I'm just going to walk away from this!"

And inside, I responded with, "thank fucking god."

People like that, though.. Lost in some paranoid world.. And you could tell there was something wrong with him mentally..

He severely reminded me of someone I used to shelve books with back home. Except, Jim, I could talk to. He absolutely intrigued me. Even though others would.. well, have a problem with him.

But Jim absolutely intrigued me. I wanted to hang out with him one night, before I left for Miami. We saw a movie ["Scary Movie"] and ate at a cheap pizza buffet [CiCi's]. Then we went back and hung out around the park outside the library we worked at. He wanted to kiss me. I told him I couldn't. I had a boyfriend. I didn't want him to get attached to me, but he told me it was too late for that..

I called him the next day, and he actually asked me if I was going to call the cops on him. Just because he wanted to kiss me. I tried to explain to him, of course not. But.. that same paranoia was there..

That same.. inability to interact with people on a "normal" level.. Like.. he could flip out and just stare at you with the evil eye for the tiniest thing. And it wouldn't be a joke. It would be very eerie and just.. not "normal".. not.. "natural"..

I forget what he said his father said he had.. shizophrenia.. or autism..?

Something..

But.. that just really creeped me out today.

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006