false alarm
<<January 9, 2003 - Thurs, 7:16 pm>>

Good golly, for a moment there I thought my luck was about to run out already. Gave me quite a scare. [and, yes, I said "good golly"]

I've done two things in my apartment/dorm room that traditionally supposedly gives you bad luck. The other day, I bought a pretty new red umbrella at the dollar store, and I wanted to see what it looked like, so I opened it up inside my room.

And then today.. I broke my mirror. Also from another dollar store, I might add. Good stuff, you can find, for cheap. But.. I keep it in a basket on top of the toilet tank, and as I was blow-drying my hair this morning, I knocked it over. It fell on it's side, behind the toilet, and, thankfully, it did not break. But of course, when I picked it back up, it had to slip through my fingers, fall flat on the floor and shatter into a million pieces.

Just my luck.

And I was in a rush to make an informal 10 am appointment to fill out paperwork for my new job.

Then the worst happened. I couldn't find my key. I desperately searched all over the room, every little nook and cranny, checked my bag 3 times, fluffed my comforter to see it if would fall out, searched under the bed in case it had fallen, my desk, countertops, cabinets, drawers.. No where in sight.

I worried about the broken mirror. And I worried this would hurt my almost guarantee of that job.

Finally, it was time for my first class, at 11 am, and I had to go. I didn't want to leave my room unlocked, but.. what could I do. It was in there. Somewhere. It just wouldn't show itself to me.

Plus, it was a little weird because I finished Neil Gaiman's Coraline last night. And, during the night, I thought I had heard scratches on my front door lock. But what you hear outside could just as easily be from upstairs, downstairs, or next door. So I didn't think anything of it. But when I couldn't find my key..

Anyone who's read the book would know where I'm going with this.

But anyway, so I had to go to class and then fill out paperwork after my class, all the while feeling petrified that someone could just walk in my room, stealing all my stuff.

But.. it all worked out, they didn't give a rat's ass what time I came in, they're so lax there. Unlike the Orlando Library I worked at, where, if you walk in, even just a minute late, or even on the dot [because you have to be at your workstation on the dot], they would write you up for it. No.. "well, you just stay later" or anything. They write you up. And if you're late 3 times during your first 90 days, you fail the evaluation and lose your job. Inredible. How ridiculously strict. And the worst part is that you don't clock in or sign a timesheet anywhere for what time you came, etc. So it would be your word against the manager's. Your watch against theirs.

Absolutely ridiculous.

But I digress.

So the job turned out fine.. And when I got back to my room, everything was still in place. And after about 20 more minutes of re-searching nooks and crannies ["could it have gone behind the stove..?"], I ended up finding it in the same place I searched 3 times already: my backpack.

With me all along.

'Just makes you shake your head and say, "Figures."

:p

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006