the sore earth
<<January 15, 2003 - Wednesday, 9:18 pm>>

Blech, I can never stay away for long, can I?

This is my last entry for today, I swear.

I ran into a very powerful thought-view in my Myth, Ritual and Mysticism class, that of the Wintu Indians of California, and I wanted to share it here. It goes like this:

"The White people never cared for land or deer or bear... We shake down acorns and pinenuts. We don't chop down the trees. We only use dead wood. But the White people plow up the ground, pull up the trees, kill everything. The tree says, 'Don't. I am sore. Don't hurt me.' But they chop it down and cut it up. The spirit of the land hates them. They blast out trees and stir it up to its depths. They saw up the trees. That hurts them. The Indians never hurt anything, but the White people destroy all. They blast rocks and scatter them on the ground. The rock says, 'Don't! You are hurting me.' But the White people pay no attention. When the Indians use rocks, they take little round ones for their cooking... How can the spirit of the earth like the White man?... Everywhere the White man has touched it, it is sore."

How self-centered we are..

And what was that about us matching the definition of a virus..?

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006