good/bad
<<June 23, 2003 - Monday, 7:26 pm>>

Well, there's good news and there's bad news..

The good news is.. I received quite the compliment via email today from my professor from last term. Yes, the same one from that class that I absolutely hated, Organization & Management, but.. it was quite an astounding compliment.

Basically, he told me that the work and research I did for my portion of the Group Term Paper was the best in the class and that it was so impressive that he wants me to a "Special Project" independent study, worth 3 credits.

Best in the class, he said.. Wow, I haven't received compliments like that since.. elementary or middle school. Feels damn good. Even if I hated the class. Or, especially since I hated the class. Heh.

It's nothing like the "frisky professor," though, so don't worry. Even during the class, he was so into his research that he would have a few students doing additional side projects for him as well. When he spots a student that can do good work for him, he hunts them out. And.. I'm intrigued by his job. For some reason he's always traveling all over the country. Doing speeches, maybe? Some kind of presentation? I was never sure. But I highly admired that he was able to do that, travel around the world for his job. 'Looks like I would have an in to some fantastic career advice while doing this.

See, I'm not the type of student to get to know their professor, much less ever talk to them so.. this is a lot. I hope I can do it. I actually want to do work, isn't that crazy? But it sounds like something really unique and challenging to do. There's a concern whether I can do it now or not, though, because I'm still not admitted into the School of Business yet. But.. we'll see how this work out.

Okay.. so.. the Bad News..

I got in a car accident today. Genius husband wanted me to pick him up early, when I could have stayed at work, or bullshitted online until the evening like I planned. But, nooooo..

And it was raining. The roads were wet. And the husband further annoyed me by being 45 minutes late out of his work building. I was about ready to drive off when I happened to see him walking up in my rear-view mirror.

So.. we were going to attempt to run some errands. Purchase a chair for me for my desk, fill out/ sign the lease for our storage unit.. I was feeling quite perturbed by everything, and the rain didn't help, because I didn't want to be lugging out a big box containing the chair, and having the box get all wet, and further having my car get all wet..

'n stuff..

So I wasn't in the best mindset.

Drizzling, wet, slick roads. I was approaching a red light with one car stopped in front of me in my lane. I hit the brakes, but nothing happened. Pressed hard on the brakes, thinking, "Why isn't this thing stopping..?" It finally stopped, however, when it slammed into the car in front of me. :/

Y'sh.

No one got hurt. The worst that happened to the blue chevy cavalier in front of me was that I broke a part of her bumper that was detachable anyway, and she just took it off for the time being and put it in her trunk.

Me, the front grill of my 95 Lincoln Town Car was broken and pushed in, the front assembly of the hood messed up, so that I can't open it, and the right headlight wasn't working when i had the hazards on. The car seems to be running fine. And there doesn't seem to be any mechanical damange to the car, and it seems pretty safe since there is this large gap between where the front bumper is and where the actual working parts of the engine are..

But.. that just really fucking sucks..

That's all I can say, really..

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006