premonition
<<November 10, 2003 - Monday, 11:58 pm>>

So.. I received some bad news last night.

My mother had called while I was out yesterday. I thought it was odd that she would call the cell phone.. and that in her message she said it was "very important." I wasn't going to call back right away because.. well, we were out and about as a group, bookfair 'n stuff.. plus I was still "fucked up."

But I was left to wonder.. what could this "important" message be? I played over some possibilities in my head.. Something in my diary..? Something she received in the mail regarding my school or financial responsibilities..? Someone passed away..?

Someone passed away..

I had a feeling. But.. since she didn't call again, I knew it wasn't one of my grandparents, thank god. But I just had a feeling something bad had happened. I was expecting it.

So when I called her back, I wasn't surprised to hear someone had passed away. My great-grandmother.. on my father's side. We all.. [large beautiful family on my father's side that I don't get to see often enough] We all called her "G.G." Short for "Great-Granny." She was the sweetest, sweetest lady. First thing I can remember is the huge smile she always wore. Lively and upbeat. Very merry.

It's been a while since I've seen her, though..

I'll be going to the funeral on Thursday.

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006