five day weekend
<<November 18, 2003 - Tuesday, 8:25 pm>>

I keep wanting to write about this weekend. There's been things to deal with.. I've been tired.. My eyes are tired.. I'm gonna try to sum it up in topics, though. Not necessarily in chronological order or anything like that.

The Glasses:

I had a "life-changing" event occur this weekend: I got glasses for the first time. I've been complaining about my eye-sight for a while now, especially with driving at night. So, spur of the moment, while I was at my parents' for the weekend, my grandparents wanted to take me to Lenscrafters. They're quick. They do it in an hour. Nice people, too.

It was kinda fun. I haven't been to an eye doctor in the longest time. My grandparents, my mom, my "spouse" and his friend, they all came with me. First was the eye exam, and then just after the doctor put drops in my eyes for them to dilate, which would take about twenty minutes, she sent me out to pick out some frames. She had a small prescription she wrote for me.

Going to pick out frames was somethin else, I tell ya. I didn't even get a chance to spot some frames I liked for myself on the wall. I had about 5 people coming up to me with frame after frame, "here, try these on".. "try these on.." All I had to do was look down and there'd be another pair of frames to try on already in my hands.

In the end, I think I picked out a really good pair. Everyone loved 'em. And I've gotten only good reactions when I walk around with them now. It's a little awkward to get used to at first. Especially with looking down.. I have to turn my head down more to look through the frames. My eyes are tired out from today. And I think I have a slight headache. Occaisonally, I compare my naked eye with my eye through the lens. It's fantastic, the difference. Especially when I'm driving, and that's where I really needed the glasses. Even colors are brighter and more vivid, which is something I wasn't expecting.

The Club:

Last Thursday, I tasted a real dose of the nightlife in Ybor City for the first time. My first time to a club. I went with my girl, Jaclyn. She's been wanting to go to this place called The Castle, and Thursday was 80's nite. My "other half" and his friend, who, by the way, came along with us for the road trip back home, and for some work.. and we took his car instead of mine, which was nice.

But.. I had so much fun at The Castle. It's a "gothic" club.. but not really hardcore gothic, which, I was glad for that. It was more like a club for the Hot Topic crowd.

The four of us drank at the bar downstairs first. And this bar is, like, the coolest bar I've seen so far. The bar itself.. the table part.. It was something like stone.. or fake stone.. with wide cracks in it.. and water sitting in the cracks.. almost like a stream or something.. 'cept.. the water wasn't moving.. just sitting there.. but it was cool.

I had about 3 or 4 cosmo's.. and maybe 5 Pall Mall's.. before we went upstairs to the main dancing room. The alcohol had kicked in, so I got on the floor with Jaclyn. Really, it was so much fun. And I kept smoking while I was dancing. I was a little concerned about dropping a cigarette butt on a wooden floor, but.. oh well, other people were smoking, too..

At one point, Jaclyn finally met up with one of her friends. She was looking for them all night. While she was talking with her friend, this other guy that was standing around the couches started talking to me. He was saying something about reading people's shirts, and not wanting offend because it's like you're staring at a girl's chest. He asked to get a better look at my shirt. I opened my jacket up for him, like a girl ready to shake her titties. I was wearing my Death shirt. It says something like, "You get what everyone else gets. You get a lifetime."

I wasn't sure if he could read my shirt since it was red lettering on a black shirt, and it was pretty dark in the club. I should've asked. But he gave a message of approval, like he could read it and it was cool. Next was for me to ask him about his shirt. I had already seen this guy in the bar downstairs and was already wondering about his shirt before-hand. On the front of his shirt it said, "On the back of this shirt are two people having sex." So. I had to ask: "What's on the back?"

He gave a warning that he didn't want to offend, but I was just like, "nahh.." So he turned around, and it said on the back something like "Just kidding!" and there was a picture of Jesus.. and there were more words underneath Jesus that I don't remember now.. It was funny. I gave him a thumbs-up.

My next inclination was to ask him, "So what's your name?" But I stopped myself. I was liquored up, and I was feeling nice talking to this guy. Especially since we had to pretty much talk into each other's ear, with the loud music. And.. getting so close to talk to him... god, he just felt so cuddly! Plus he was pretty cute. My real inclination was to find some way to get all over him and just bask in his cuddliness.. heh..

But.. my "other half" was there.. 'Not like anything could happen. And Jaclyn kept calling him my "boyfriend" all night. Now, that's just a very sobering word.. 'Course.. she coulda made it worse by calling him my husband..

I froze up with the guy after the shirt thing, and Jaclyn and I went back to dancing. But the image of the guy and his cuddliness stuck with me and haunted me for the rest of the night and the next day..

I have more to write about the weekend.. for instance, the actual funeral.. my impressions.. and the different things it left me to think about.. But.. at a later time..

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006