bad days
<<October 27, 2003 - Monday, 11:36 pm>>

Would you like to hear about my day? I'll tell you anyway..

It was an unbelievably horrible day. Yet, still, I sauntered on.

First of my problems is the afore mentioned group project. A group project going horribly wrong. Last Wednesday, I learn from the professor that our group leader, the same guy who I was emailing back and forth the night before, the same guy who has all of our information.. has dropped the class. Without warning or notice. And he hasn't answered any of my emails since. Leaving the rest of us putzes to fend for ourselves.

So I'm emailing my professor on what I can do with this predicament. At the same time.. last wednesday, also, my other two group members had said Monday nite [tonite] at 8pm was a good time to meet and it wasn't a problem with them. So I was expecting a group meeting.. and at the same time, through email, our professor said he would stop by around 8:30pm to talk with us.

So that's all set up. Got that all set up through email while I was at work. Even emailed the other two group members to confirm our meeting. All well and good.

Next problem, sending a transcript. The cashier's office said they couldn't release the transcript since I show up as being plagued with about 20 different library fines. Keeping calm.. What could have been a catastrophe was very easily and smoothly dealt with by a quick trip back to the library. I asked Jude - [who, btw, I LOVE this guy. he's the supervisor for circulation.. and he's this very cool guy.. from one of the islands..? i dunno, but he has an accent.. and he has dreds all the way down to his cute tight ass.] Anyway, I asked Jude: "Hey Jude, when will those library fines be cleared?"

He was a bit confused.. He thought they were all cleared. But no matter. He'll take care of them, they'll be cleared in a week. Until then, he signed me a waiver for them to release my transcript.

And I went right back to the cashier's office with the waiver.

It's nice to work at the library..

But that's about where smooth-sailing ended.

Later today, around 4:55pm, I needed to catch the bus/shuttle to the south campus. I was in a bit of a rush and I was gonna just make it. When I was about 100 feet away, in front of the bus.. it started to move on its way. So.. being in front of the bus's path, I held out my arm to catch it. No big deal. People do it every day. But the bus actually kept going, like it was going to pass by me.

So I start waving. No stop. I start waving more franticly, snapping my fingers. Maybe he didn't see me.. No stop. When it's about halfway past me, I throw up my arms in defeat.

And then it stops.

And then.. The bus driver started yelling at me! "What's with the attitude?!" he yells at me. I was just like, "Nooo.. I just didn't know if you saw me or not." And he said, "YOU'RE LATE! I'm not the one that's late, YOU are!" I look at my watch and it's actually right on time. I'm just mortified, though.. and I say, "I'm sorry" and sit down.. And, remember, I was right there in front of the bus when he started to move. I don't know what the hell his problem is..

And then I'm fuming the whole bus trip. Replaying the incident over and over in my head, thinking of ways I could've stood up for myself better. I still can't stand people yelling at me.. It's so fucking demeaning and absolutely uncalled for.

Until.. in the middle of the turnpike, the bus driver suddenly makes a very abrupt stop, and pulls to the side of the road. A few of us are thinking.. "omigod, flat tire..?"

Until he starts slowing backing up.. backing up.. backing up.. until he can turn into the ramp exit he just passed!

He missed his exit! And with a busload of college students, he backs up in the middle of the highway! Incredible! And then I remembered how, last week, the same bus driver actually hit a smaller shuttle, one that goes to another adjacent campus, parked right in front as he was trying to take off from the other campus. Yeah, someone needs to be fired..

Good god..

*sigh*

But to make a long story short.. I had class from 6:25-7:40pm. 8pm, I started waiting for my group in the library. 8:15pm, my professor walks in and talks with me about a solution for our project for a few minutes. 8:25pm, he walks off. 8:52pm, I get tired of waiting and make my way through campus back to the bus, which I catch at 9:30pm.

Yeah, they never showed up.

Fucking group projects, man...

LJ

step back - push forward

dearcynthia}}




Lately:
-January 16, 2017
ChicagoMarch 19, 2011
ok i will say something elseSeptember 24, 2006
i still love youSeptember 24, 2006
reaching outJuly 16, 2006